111 Comments
author

hey all, thanks for sounding off and saying hi. Sorry about the weird lone bigot blowing everyone up! Maybe that was a bot? I dunno, they're deleted.

Expand full comment

So, Montana is in the middle of trying to make the lives of trans kids needlessly hard. I give to charities like the Trevor Project, the Montana ACLU, and the Montana Human Rights Network, and I email my representatives in state government (who are aligned with me), as well as others who are forwarding the hate agenda. But as a father who wants his kid to grow up free to be whoever they are, it feels really disheartening.

As a cishet, middle-aged white guy, what else can I do to help?

Expand full comment

I'm the guy who back in 2013 lived in an Alaskan cult which forbade "rock" music. One afternoon I snuck into the music room at the back of the garage, made sure no one was around, and played the xylophone solo from Billy Liar.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2023·edited Mar 4, 2023Liked by Colin Meloy

Bea from Dunedin New Zealand. A couple weeks ago I was grabbing some last minute dinero tings and there was an older couple, I would guess mid sixties busking outside the store. They were playing Rox in the Box on guitar and violin. Even though there’s a very rich musical history here (Dunedin Sound) it’s not super common to find people who listen to great music. It made me so happy.

Also, re band names, my daughter is in a band called Fool of Stars (illimat reference). They’re releasing an album in the next few months. My daughter was a few months old the first time I saw you guys play in SLC. You were touring Picaresque. It was magical. Now she’s 18 and obsessed with The Magnus Archives thank you Hank. Wild.

Also, shameless request for a stop on the South Island of NZ. A Middle Earth tour. Yes.

Expand full comment

Will we get more updates on the recording process? Fascinating stuff!

Expand full comment

I'm Nicki from the far reaches of Northern Ontario, Decemberists fan since 2006! I'm a Bird Nerd and participate in Bird banding at remote locations twice a year. What is your favourite bird?

Expand full comment

I like that you forgot something you were doing just a year ago. My experience daily.

Expand full comment

From a Decemberist’s perspective: love to hear the news re process of the new recordings and look forward to more annotated songs. From a personal perspective- just enjoying retirement (semi) after 35 years with the same employer. What a mind shift. I imagine musicians need to make a shift of the same ilk after a long tour.

Expand full comment

I'm a neurodivergent/bisexual/leftist/atheist/husband/father/artist/craftsman/technician/adventurer living in Oklahoma.

Expand full comment

I’m Nico, all the way from Wisconsin. I’ve been a fan since I was 14 after reading wildwood, til now at 24 years old. Recently discovered this through a Facebook fan group, and it’s so interesting to read about your thoughts/the process of writing & recording music

Expand full comment
founding

Any society of luminary members here? Excited for the new expansion and waiting for my shipping notice!

Colin what’s your personal okus?

Expand full comment

I'm a big fan, a living room guitar player, and a computer nerd, so this blog is my new favorite place. I have a jumbo Takamine acoustic electric I bought with a work bonus like 10 years ago. What does everyone else play?

Expand full comment

Hi Colin, name's Kevin from the Cleveland area of Ohio. Passionate environmentalist that works in sustainability for our regional wastewater/stormwater utility. Trying to do my part in protecting Lake Erie and restoring habitat! Thanks for the music, books, and being a wholesome person. My wife and I are huge fans. :)

Expand full comment

My Name is Sam. I live in the North Georgia Mountains. I am a singer songwriter, who missed his chance to take his musical career to the next level. My dream job is to become a one-hit wonder and live as long as I can off the royalties.

Expand full comment

this week i took 2 Decemberists posters to get custom framed (alongside a few other signed records & tour posters, including a 2015 Neutral Milk Hotel poster that is my pride and joy) and i'm so pumped about it—been wanting to do this for ages and can finally afford it. Getting a blue-and-black double mat on the 2022 tour poster that's gonna look so sick. Sadly, the frame stock I wanted was backordered so it'll be a couple months until I get them back… the orange-and-yellow 2018 poster has been hanging in front of my desk for years and I miss it so bad! With it gone i don't have anything to anthropomorphize & tell all my work problems to… ballcap guy has been my close confidant for years (he doesn't care but the fly in the S eavesdrops)

Expand full comment

I'm another living room guitar player, and I appreciate the insights into the songs. I had learned "January Hymn" and had it about 80% right, but it was great seeing how Colin plays it. If you're taking requests, would love to see one on Make You Better sometime.

I got introduced to The Decemberists mostly through WEQX in Manchester, VT, and saw you play at Brewery Ommegang in Cooperstown, NY back in 2015. Have been keeping an eye out for another opportunity, so hoping you folks come back this way some time.

Expand full comment
Mar 3, 2023·edited Mar 3, 2023

Dave, UK. Huge fan of course like all of us here! I’ve been getting totally creative in my workshop listening to The Decemberists making bespoke titanium jet blade carvings to order. Totally niche and totally unique but everyday is a blast getting the creative juices flowing and singing away! Love it!!

Expand full comment

Last year I was a 35 year old living in Colorado, working for a long distance hiking organization, doing a lot of crafts and hanging out with my cats. This year I’m a 36 year old who made it back home to New England and I’m working for a non-profit indie movie theater doing a lot of crafts and hanging out with my cats! I’m also trying to read a lot of books.

I think there are a lot of crafters in here, anybody working on something fun? I’m knitting an Our Flag Means Death inspired hat and cross stitching an anglerfish.

Between last year and today I managed to make it to a Decemberists show which was the highlight of this last chunk of time. My favorite activity.

Expand full comment

Has it already been nearly a year?!? Wow!

I'm still an archaeologist. Still living east of LA in San Bernardino County (Ontario not Canada), but now I have snow covered mountains to look at outside my front window. What a winter it has been here in California.

Expand full comment

Recently I've been thinking about the stories physical spaces tell, since I played What Remains of Edith Finch for the first time. I'm catching up on old games since I haven't had a modern game console in a few years, got myself a PS5 recently and took a look at the old backlog. I play a lot of D&D and write TTRPG stuff, so I tend to think about well-crafted spaces a lot.

Expand full comment

We are big fans of A Practical Handbook! Saw it on Roku!

Expand full comment

My name is Starr. I live near Fort Worth, Texas. I do tech support for a certain bajillion-dollar tech company, working from home for ten and a half years now. I am SO ready to retire. I'm just... tired. Brain-tired, body-tired, spirit-tired. I want to create, even if it's only a batch of scones for breakfast or some amateur art for the wall, but I'm just a clock-puncher who helps privileged people fix issues that they could easily google solutions to, and have no time to create anything. Wow, this went darker than I intended. Must be my headspace today. Anyway, hi, all! *wave*

Expand full comment

Hey Everyone. I’m Steve from the Isle of Skye. It’s my first post on here. Thanks for having me.

My wife and young family moved here from busy City (ish) life 12 years ago because of a song - Carrie Elkin’s ‘The Edge of the World’ - I’d recommend checking it out, it led in our dance and I hope it’ll entertain you too.

As my first pinkie toe tip into the hopefully soothing waters of this Forum I have a question I’d like to put to you all if I may, also related to music, if which I know very little technically and dance, of which I know far far less.

I have a big birthday ending in the number ‘0’ coming up. As a late teen of the Seventies my wife has arranged for a Disco in our local Community Hall, a place much like you’d see in rural communities all over the world. As we’re embedded in the life up here, it’s also nice to keep to some local traditions, so my wife has this idea.

‘Strip The Willow’ is a very popular Highland room-length longwise set dance up here, typically involving dozens of people and traditional music.

But Mrs. Steve wants to set it to a Disco, Rock or contemporary Music beat for a bit of fun.

So over to you. How do I find a bpm related track?

Can 60 people strip the Willow to ‘I’m every Woman’? if not ‘Carolina Low’?!!

Cheers everyone!!!

Steve

Expand full comment

Hi Colin, I live just to the south of you in Corvallis. My husband and I met you and Carson at the Portland Audubon Wild Arts Festival. You were both so gracious to indulge me by taking a photo together. One of our theatres, the Whiteside is celebrating it's 100th Anniversary. I hope someday you might consider performing there.

BTW, we went to see The Decemberists at Marymoor Park, wonderful show!

Expand full comment

Hi, I’m Sanayo, and I enjoy stories about duels that take place in the stomachs of whales.

Expand full comment

Here in Portland, enjoying the cloudy day... I work at TLE Records doing ecommerce and stuff... last night I picked up Wildwood and definitely need to read that one. I actually didn't know about your books until recently. A good reminder that creativity isn't limit to one medium. Cheers!

Expand full comment

Hi Colin. I discovered you while driving my teenage daughter and her friends to concerts. I never knew who I was going to see. Just had to get them to the show and then drop them off at home..Am now a rabid fan. First show was at the electric factory in Philadelphia. I seem to remember that it was A perfect crime when you scaled the bleacher seats

I just thought who is this guy!?. P.s. Am team Jenny. You are all so talented! Tinasmithmiller@gmail.com

Expand full comment

Last week, my wife and I went to Annapolis to check out the Crash Test Dummies. Have always wanted to see them. I don't know if it's their quirky lyrics or their country-esque sound, but I like it and maybe that's part of why I enjoy Decemberists too!

Expand full comment
founding

From Austin, TX.

I have a couple of Taylor's and have played in a band at work.

Expand full comment

Any thoughts of the Decembrist headlining your own weekend festival, similar to Wilco’s solid sound weekend?

Expand full comment
founding

Anyone got any band name suggestions for me?

Expand full comment

Hey All! Soooo looking forward to new music from the band! Also expecting a tour to follow, right?? I live in Martha’s Vineyard and produce TV.

Expand full comment

Gonna see Neko in Astoria?

Expand full comment

Dear Colin, Can you tell what person's self-expression you deleted and include in your reply the reason you think it qualifies for the status of earning the description of "weird lone bigot". Was it the comments with the name-calling and profanity? I hope you didn't delete my highly coherent and urgently needed explanation of one of the pillars of the New World Order agenda. If would be constructive and useful for mutual understanding to show or cite the parts of the comment that you deleted that are the basis for your perspective. thanks

Paul

Expand full comment

I didn't see any bigoted comments, just profanity and name-calling. Here are articles on the Manson and Unabomber fake events: http://big-lie.org/mileswmathis/tate.pdf

http://mileswmathis.com/unabomber.pdf

Expand full comment
Mar 7, 2023·edited Mar 7, 2023

I'm late! I'm Maddie. I live in Dublin, Ireland right now but count Massachusetts, Montreal, and Oakland as my homes -- and hoping to add PDX next year.

I write code for a living, and I'm also taking a bunch of mathy coursework that I am currently procrastinating on.

I caught up with an old friend today and invited him to my wedding. The daffodils are coming up in my local park. March does April on, doesn't it.

Expand full comment

Miami fan hoping that one day you could grace this opposite corner of the continental US with your presence. It is an excellent place for a summer song in the winter or any season you need one🙃

Expand full comment

I’m Debbie, real name Deborah. Been to many many D concerts and book readings. It seems there are a lot of crafters here including me! I knit but do just about all crafts. I work in Homecare. Used to be a paralegal. Mom of two of the greatest kids and an amazing Granddaughter. From Detroit so yes love Motown songs . Lived in Hawaii and Santa Barbara for many years. I love poetry, museums but music must of all. I do like birds but not a bird nerd. Favorite bird : lovely sparrow . More of a flower nerd. Favorite flower : Iris . Played clarinet for years! Hoping to move to the Coast.

Expand full comment

I'm Emily. I discovered the Decemberists through the tv show Scrubs. The Decemberists are my favorite band. I live in Minnesota and saw you at Rock the Garden in 2009, the State Theater in 2017(?) And last summer at Surly Field. I just discovered substack existed yesterday thru an email from a witchy herbalist I follow. (Although in retrospect, now that I think about it, I vaugely recall something in a Decemberists email before that show at Surly field that may have indeed been thru substack.) But, in this foray, within the first 2 minutes of trying to figure out what substack actually is, I saw something that highlighted a post by 'Colin Meloy of the Decemberists'. It felt like fate. So, here I am, contuining to explore and excited to see what it has to offer.

And there's someone above who is a bird nerd which makes me happy. I am also a bird nerd. My favorite is the Indigo Bunting. 🐦 Yay birds and all the bird nerds!

Expand full comment

Hello all, I'm Thom, originally from the UK, then in Colorado in my teens and 20s, and in Western Washington for the past 5 years. I am amused that Colin apparently spent last week recording a song called Tell Me What's On Your Mind then asks us all to tell him what's on our mind.

Expand full comment

My name is Matt and I'm from McMinnville, Oregon. I'm a software developer, and when I'm not doing that I have a couple dozen hobbies that I partake in, including music playing, leather working, and armor making.

Expand full comment

I was at the RedRocks show that had absolutely absurd weather. It was bad/good. Probably four years ago? Pandemic has killed my ability to tell time, less reported side effect than taste and smell...started on Substack this week and landed here through recommendations. Had no idea it was Colin and since this is the very first post I read it had little context. Luckily I AM a Decembrists fan and grew up and am very close with JC. Not sure what the etiquette is for using names so I am being semi-obscure with that. Happy to connect with you folx.

Expand full comment

I'm Brennan from Michigan and I've been a Decemberists fan since a friend shoved "The Mariner's Revenge Song" down my throat on a 13-hour road trip in 2005. I also write about music and life--honestly, it's mostly life these days--at songsandstories.substack.com if you any of you are interested in such things. (My feelings won't be hurt if you're not!)

Expand full comment

I am Scott Alford, an American songwriter living in Switzerland: https://open.spotify.com/track/4vd7Y9I6l1KpIKv1wNS6fi

Expand full comment

Jordie, in Long Beach. My best friend introduced me to the Decemberists and that was my first concert. Always appreciated your storytelling!

Expand full comment

Any chance the 20th anniversary filmed concerts will be released for download or on blu ray/dvd?

Expand full comment
Comment removed
Expand full comment
Comment removed
Expand full comment