291 Comments
author

I'm gonna get to as many as I can, folks! Just give me time...

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2022·edited Apr 29, 2022

Colin, I’m one of those weird fans who absolutely loves and adores the music and lyrics and how the music makes me feel but I have no questions as I almost don’t want to ruin any personal relationship I’ve made up about the songs and how I relate to them. I only have feelings of gratitude for making such wonderful songs. Perhaps my question should actually be how do you process what your music does for fans and how do you feel about that? I mean your initial goal isn’t to form super fans but to release a creative inner drive so how do you even begin to contemplate on music that has probably saved lives, travelled the world with people and shapes lives for 20 years! It’s a powerful thing my friend!

Expand full comment

Did Steven take the news gracefully?

Expand full comment

What is the person shouting at the end of "Hazards of Love 1 (prettiest whistles)"? I have spent hours in audacity backmasking, unbackmasking, speeding up, slowing down, applying filters, and can not figure this out.

Expand full comment

Hi Colin! What's the story behind Red Right Ankle?

Expand full comment
founding

Do you think the band will do more streamed shows (WITH AUDIENCE) going forward?

I am thinking of the Palace Theatre in St. Paul. from 2018. Such a great show and experience for people who cannot travel to the shows.

Expand full comment

this is such a mom question, i’m almost too embarrassed to ask but here goes! do your kids like the decemberists?

Expand full comment

Tell us a fun Ben Gibbard story. I love that you two are homies.

Expand full comment

Who among you is the reigning Illimat champion?

Expand full comment

Will the band ever release any of the live shows the Decemberists performed with a symphony orchestra?

Expand full comment

Hi! I was so exited to see the news that Wildwood is being adapted by LAIKA. I’m curious, what does the process of book-to-film adaptation look like from your end? Are you involved in the decisions the studio is making?

Expand full comment

Where are the hymns to the other months? Will the other ten months ever get any love?

Expand full comment

I've always wanted to know the meaning behind Odalisque. Especially the stanzas:

And what do we with ten baby shoes

A kit bag full of marbles

And a broken billiard cue? what do we do?

And what do we do with ten dirty Jews

A thirty-ought full of rock salt

And a warm afternoon? what do we do?

I've never been able to figure it out!

Expand full comment

could you be persuaded to play “shiny” in philadelphia this august? i’ve been attending decemberists shows for ~20 years now and have yet to hear it live (but would sure like to!).

Expand full comment

Where did you learn how to tell stories? The Decemberists have been my favorite band for a pretty long while now, and that has all been because of the stories that are told. I love all the lyrics, and so many times while listening to a song, have I thought that it could be made into a pretty great short story film or music video (but in my head it is always starring muppets, with a few people here and there).

Expand full comment

I have often seen you sipping on a little wine during a set. Do you have a favorite varietal or style? I feel like you're a dry peppery kinda guy, but who am I to assume?

Expand full comment

Hey, Colin! I've always wanted to know, is there a particular reason why drowning is such a common theme in your work?

Expand full comment

I have 2.

When is the new album coming out?

I found Big Thief and Alvvays from your recommendations on Twitter. What other modern bands/artists should I check out?

Expand full comment

Do you have a favorite Decemberists song?

Expand full comment

Have you ever considered writing a non-YA novel? I think the themes and narrative subject matter you explore as a part of the Decemberists would translate well!

Expand full comment
Apr 29, 2022Liked by Colin Meloy

Post of gratitude for your support of the Infinite Jest group read a few years ago. Shameless request for a full concept album based on the book. One DFW song reference is grossly insufficient. :)

Expand full comment

not a question, just a comment, i'm a fellow pdx'er who loves the record year for rainfall song, it feels like it haunts my own home here on these rainy days <3

Expand full comment
founding

Your lyrics often deal with sex, was there ever a line that was so risqué that you had to edit out?

Expand full comment

Could you share a bit about how you chose to write and record The Tain?

Expand full comment

What is your research regimen when writing songs from a historical perspective? They are always brimming with so many great details.

Expand full comment

Apropos of your cozy chaise, do you have thoughts on Wet Leg?

Expand full comment

Socks or no socks for sleeping?

Expand full comment

Hey Colin! First, a little fun fact: I work at the Canadian branch of HarperCollins in Toronto, and I'm going to be responsible for handling the Canadian marketing for The Stars Did Wander Darkling! Can't wait to work on the book. I have a couple questions: First, how closely, if at all, are you working with Laika for the Wildwood movie? And secondly, do you plan on writing any "adult" books, whether fiction or non-fiction?

Expand full comment

Hello! Loved your Bluebird Festival set! Any plans to record your autobiographical Return to Lonesome Dove song? Because I'm pretty sure I need it on vinyl. Also, thank you for Dracula's Daughter!

Expand full comment

Hi Colin, I love your song Sleepless. Are there any stories behind the song's creation you'd care to share?

Expand full comment

What is your favorite piece of Montana lore? (A book, historical note, personal story, whatever...)

Expand full comment

What's your favorite couple of venues?

Expand full comment

Hi Colin- I’m an admirer of your acoustic guitar collection. Which are your favorites and why?

Expand full comment

I'll start with just one question ;) What was the inspiration and/or story behind I Was Meant For the Stage? To me, it seems to line up perfectly with the climax of Dead Poet Society. It really could really play in real-time as the soundtrack to those couple scenes as the melancholy morphs into some of the most unsettling turmoil I've heard in a song. One of my favorites!

Not a question but I want to just express my gratitude for sharing your Machine Shop. I'm in awe by the way you engage with fans and take the time to respond genuinely when you can. I was so disappointed to miss you at the Bluebird Festival last week. I was going to go in 2020, but... well, you know. I was disappointed I couldn't fly back for it this year as I am wrapping up my last semester of grad school... And these few weeks of Machine Shop goodies have given me such valuable respite and joy during a chaotic time. Thank you!

Expand full comment

Are there any of your songs that make you emotional when you sing them?

Expand full comment

What kind of guitar do you play in the video of "A Beginning Song"?

Expand full comment

I've got a bunch and they might all be out of left field.

I really loved the book tour you did for the Wildwood books. (Saw you at the Coolidge corner theater in Brookline Mass for that) are there more plans for speaking engagements outside of the Decemberists stuff?

I'm a former special Ed teacher and hearing you talk about your child's diagnosis in the past, and the work you did for the school was inspiring, have you thought about broader advocacy? (Also have you read Nuerotribes by Steve Silberman or in a different Let by Jerry Zucker? Both amazing stories of the journey the American mental health system and how autism mirrors that)

I remember during the Livestream when asked about favorite board games Jenny spoke about Flamme Rouge and I got stupid excited (it's also my favorite game) are you doing tabletop stuff now? What stands out to you?

Expand full comment

Colin! Omg, hi! I have a singular and unfathomably important (to me) question. Is Sons & Daughters about a ragtag bunch of nuclear fallout survivors on a raft?

Expand full comment

Hi Colin! How’s your day going?

Expand full comment

I saw you play in Tucson for the Crane Wife tour, and during A Perfect Crime you grabbed a phone from the audience and (apparently) called someone before singing the next chorus into the phone. Was this a regular thing you did? Did you ever talk or listen to the people you called?

Expand full comment

Hello sir. What’s the story about Stateside. You have so many wonderful songs but for some reason Stateside has a low fi sound and feel that continues to satisfy. Have you ever considered a full album of electric low fi work?

Expand full comment

Your albums always seem to be so well-sequenced. How do you think about song order? Does the band spend a lot of time playing around with different orders or does it come together naturally? For example, Crane Wife 3 is such a perfect opener - I'll never forget the first time I heard it.

Expand full comment

What’s the worst kind of pastry? And what’s the single worst pastry you’ve every ingested?

Expand full comment

Hi Colin! Any chance we’ll be getting another volume of the “Colin Meloy Sings…” EPs in the future? All 4 are constantly on rotation at my house! I think they’re some of the best cover projects out there…And they introduced me to the glory of Shirley Collins!

Expand full comment

Have you ever seen the 2017 film from Estonia called NOVEMBER? It has major Decemberists (Novemberists?) folk-tale vibes, including drowning, deals with the devil, shape-shifting forest creatures, and romantic poetry lessons from melting snowmen. It's awesome.

Expand full comment

Are you guys going to stream any more D&D? That was really fun to watch.

Expand full comment

What’s with all the drowning? As a lifeguard, I’m concerned. Do you need swim lessons?

Expand full comment

I really enjoyed the Traveler’s Rest Festivals in Missoula. Do you have plans to revive those efforts post-pandemic?

Expand full comment

What is your favorite song to perform live? Are there any songs you refuse to play?

Expand full comment

Seeing the ways in which O Valencia drew upon Romeo and Juliet… are there any other Shakespearean themes/characters/intertextuality alluded to in your songs?

Expand full comment