329 Comments
author

Gotta run to an appt, but I'm gonna get back on in a bit and answer more... persist!

Expand full comment
author

Ok! That's all I can get to today, but let's do this again. Thanks for your questions! You guys are rad!

Expand full comment

How can we get a collaboration between The Decemberists and the amazingly talented Carson Ellis for an adult coloring book featuring scenes from a variety of Decemberists songs?

...Maybe a page of Eli the Barrow Boy...

...or a delightful rendition of a confrontation inside the belly of a whale...

I know I would buy one.

Expand full comment

How “old” is the ghost of Leslie Anne Levine? Should I be picturing an infant ghost or a petulant teen wandering around the castle walls?

Expand full comment

In your books, who would you say is the character you relate to most and which was was your favorite to write about? Also what's your favorite historical era?

Also, I would like to say, that as a Trans, Queer, and autistic kid, I really appreciate you showing genuine support for those communities. Even though it's practically the bare minimum support from people I idolize always makes me overjoyed and gives me hope for the future.

Expand full comment

Favorite Fairport Convention song or album? Favorite Richard Thompson?

Expand full comment

What was the inspiration for On the Bus Mall?

Expand full comment

If you could replace the Mariner’s Revenge Song’s role in your oeuvre (oft-requested fan favorite that you have understandably grown weary of playing) with any other from your catalogue, which would you choose?

Ramifications: Mariner’s is refreshed to you and your band mates, but another must carry its burden.

Expand full comment

Hello Mr. Meloy,

I was wondering, what do you think about while singing? The imagery of the song, the next line, the feeling of it? Does it get monotonous singing the same songs repeatedly?

Thank you. I love all that you do.

-Connor

Expand full comment

Did you guys finish Season zero? Was there a redemption arc or was it a lost cause?

I don't know why I'm so invested in your pandemic legacy season zero game but here we are

Expand full comment

Orate? I remember it so fondly, the online camaraderie. Every day I see the little brass whale and a the little ceramic handmade Colin I got from Christmas gift exchanges or other group events. It was fun. Thanks. Sue

Expand full comment

Hello! Any chance of that California One guitar tutorial? :)

Expand full comment

The new songs are the tour were great! Any plans forming for the next Decemberists album?

Expand full comment

Favorite Squeeze album? Song?

Expand full comment

I found The Decemberists years ago through the Hunger Games soundtrack of all places. When invited to collaborate on a large movie soundtrack like that, how did you come up with the song? Were you told to write a song that correlates to the themes of the movie or did you already have a song half-written or fully written that was usable for the soundtrack?

Expand full comment

As a songwriter and artist, how do you feel about performers that cover your songs? I’ve covered around 45-50 at various live and Zoom open mics to good responses.

Bonus question: on your song Greetings From Anonymity, what is the third line of the third verse (starting with “Got stuck on a ???”). I just couldn’t quite make it out off the recording! Thank you.

Expand full comment

How do we keep bloodhounds from breaking into a fenced garden and stealing strawberries and tomatoes?

I'll take my answer in the form of a song, thank you.

Expand full comment

Any plans to release a live album from the Arise from the Bunkers tour?

Expand full comment

Some bands tour for months at a time, it seems the Decemberists tour more frequently but for shorter time. What limits the length of a tour for you? Wear and tear on voice? Time away from home? Bad parts of touring begin to exceed fun parts?

Expand full comment

Is it too early to ask when your next music tour (whether with the Decemberists or solo) will be? So excited to read the new book. My kiddo and I are just finishing Wildwood 3!

Expand full comment

Hey Colin, had a question about the King is Dead sessions...I remember listening to it for the first time and really hearing the Peter Buck "REM" influence...As a giant REM fan, I honestly wasn't sure what to make of it at first. After several listens, I was completely in. Can you describe the inspiration for that record and how you came to know Peter Buck? And do you still have a relationship with him? I was fortunate to catch Filthy Friends a couple of years back and met him...I was shaking.

Expand full comment

Are there more dead bodies at the end of the average John Wick film or the average Decemberists album?

Expand full comment

How did you get involved in the Parks & Recreation tv show concert?

Expand full comment

What is the basis of “Grace Cathedral Hill” (love the steel guitar on that one!). The Internet says it’s about the death of Carson’s father, but he seems to be very much alive.

Expand full comment

Hello! Are you concerned with your vocal chords? In the diaries, you made a number of references to the 2018 tour and this year's shows. Happy to hear you don't have polyps at least!

Expand full comment

Does Margaret actually *have* the baby in the Hazards of Love? I can never decide if she's just very pregnant in "Isn't It a Lovely Night," or she's actually got a baby with her. And if she did give birth, where does the baby end up after their tragic end?

Expand full comment

Hi Colin, when you are close to finishing a song, do you have a sense of if it be one of your more popular pieces or is it often a surprise which songs resonate with your audience? (Loved your show in Boston by the way!)

Expand full comment

I saw The Decemberists perform "Rox in the Box" in concert a few years ago, and you inserted a bridge live that I had never heard before. I can't remember the lyrics, and I haven't been able to find anything about the band always doing this at live shows or find anything else about it. To my ear, it had the sound of a traditional song, but I could be wrong. I've been curious what song was referenced or if it was original lyrics added ever since that night. Any insights?

Expand full comment

I've always wondered: did "January Hymn" and "June Hymn" start out as poems rather than songs?

Expand full comment

Please please please will you do a UK tour again soon?

Expand full comment

I want to ask this, as a Shebanger, what did you love about The Buried Giant? I read it and I feel like I've missed something.

Expand full comment

In Nashville you purchased the new guitar, have you had a chance to play it? How was the sound and feel?

Expand full comment

What exactly is the story behind Shiny? It seems rather cut and dry, but I’ve been researching the ancestry of the Romanichal side of my family and I was wondering what exactly drew you to the Romani community.

Expand full comment

Any songs/characters inspired by our hometown of Helena :)

Expand full comment

what are some great names for geese?

Expand full comment

Was Down on the Knuckle a continuation of Tarkio’s Sister Nebraska?

Expand full comment

What is your favorite album cover art, Decemberists or non?

Expand full comment

What are your 3 favorite podcasts? Besides old bright, i already listen, ha ha i am looking for good listening!

Expand full comment

what glasses do you wear?

Expand full comment

What books are on your bedside table??

Expand full comment

Hi Colin, what made you choose the River Annan for the Hazards of Love setting?

Expand full comment

Favorite non-fiction books? Favorite fiction?

Expand full comment

I have always wondered if the songs Everything I Try to do, Grace Cathedral Hill, and Record Year were three parts to a story. Did they have inspiration from a common source? I’ve always heard them as a melancholy trilogy.

Expand full comment

Where in the greater Portland area should I go for dinner this weekend?

Expand full comment

I read The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro on your recommendation a while ago. I loved it and have since read his Klara and the Sun. What's your take on the ending of The Buried Giant? I think about the book as a whole often; I need to read it again, but I've always been a little "... huh." about the ending.

Expand full comment

Hi Colin!!

What has your transition between song writing and more longform writing (your novels) been like for you? Did you find that it was an easy go between? Did one help the other? Do you find you enjoy one more than the other?

Just been so curious about your journey in that respect!

Expand full comment

No question today, but thanks for the offer. Heading to see Roxy Music tonight. Can’t wait.

Expand full comment

Would you like a King or Queen rather than a President?

Expand full comment

First time long time. Being a fiery furnaces fan I was wondering if you had any stories with Eleanor Friedburger from your 2018 tour

Expand full comment

I loved Fugue State. Any chance of future sessions?

Expand full comment